Using AI To Make Decisions

A tale of two tripods If you think this is a trivial problem, all the more reason to use AI

John Iovine
6 min readJun 24, 2024

Many times, I find myself at a crossroads regarding a decision. I have found that I can use AI to help clarify my choices and thereby help me make a decision.

Some will consider my example problem trivial. I know it would be to most people. But it’s not trivial to AI, and that’s all the more reason to use it. It will not approach the problem half-heartedly as a human might.

I shot a few product publicity photographs. During the shoot, everything went wrong. My tripods for holding the side lights were inadequate. My overhead lighting was glaring noticeably into the product screen. I used only my side lighting and powered through the shoot. At the end, I evaluated every tripod I owned for usefulness. I decided to dump most of my tripods because they were too short, kept the few useable ones and want to purchase another tripod for my camera. I jumped onto Amazon.com and narrowed my search to two possible choices.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00L4RMRMM/ref=ewc_pr_img_2?smid=A2ELWGBLTG2MJ5

--

--

John Iovine

Science writer, thinker, self-experimenter, focusing on personal development and health — www.john-iovine.com